New Rig

Re: New Rig

Postby Grump642 on 26 Aug 2009 14:22

Yeah, I don't know if it's the camera or me? :-??
User avatar
Grump642
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 501
Joined: 20 Dec 2008 05:07
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: New Rig

Postby VINTAR on 26 Aug 2009 14:58

You must have been shaking with the exitement of your new beast :D
Core2Quad Q8300 2.5 @ 3.6ghz
Cooler Master Hyper TX 2 CPU cooler
Gigabyte EP45 UD3R mobo
Nvidia GTS450
2 GIGS Transcend DDR2 800 pc6400 @ 960
Thermaltake Tough Power 650w PSU
Samsung Syncmaster P2350
-----------------------------------
Apartheid veteran
User avatar
VINTAR
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 441
Joined: 18 Sep 2008 15:07
Location: Durban, South Africa


Re: New Rig

Postby Grump642 on 19 Sep 2009 18:06

I had some time to play with this I7 today. Damn! this thing is a MONSTER!! :mozilla_surprised: It's running stable as a rock at 4.0Ghz! I raised the vcore by .05v, to 1.25v, memory is now pretty stock at 1600Mhz and 7,7,7,20.
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv340/Grump642/New%20Rig/2009-09-19_115007.png This I7 is worth the money.
User avatar
Grump642
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 501
Joined: 20 Dec 2008 05:07
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: New Rig

Postby audioave10 on 20 Sep 2009 02:16

That's impressive...I'd be curious to know about the wattage draw of that monster. But,
if I had it, I wouldn't care.
"Let the Zone take me if I am"
User avatar
audioave10
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 01:30
Location: USA

Re: New Rig

Postby Grump642 on 20 Sep 2009 03:11

I must say, I have been very impressed. I took it up to 4.2 Ghz, but I needed more vCore. I didn't want to do that, so I left it at 4.0.
Edit- I think I will try raising the bclk some more and drop the multiplier to 19. That way I can get my memory speed back up. Only so many memory ratio's. Sigh
Edit2- It worked. I got the memory speed back up and CPU running at 4.08Ghz. Had to disable HT. The thermals were going up over 86C. Oh well, not a bad trade-off.
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv340/Grump642/New%20Rig/Test2.png
User avatar
Grump642
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 501
Joined: 20 Dec 2008 05:07
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: New Rig

Postby audioave10 on 20 Sep 2009 06:22

Prime 95 is cranking those temps up (which is expected). They should
stay under 65c or 66c when you game heavy. I don't like temps in the
sixties myself although the CPU might still last for ten years-who knows? Very nice set-up. You are spoiled now... :)
"Let the Zone take me if I am"
User avatar
audioave10
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 01:30
Location: USA

Re: New Rig

Postby Grump642 on 21 Sep 2009 03:29

Spoiled and HAPPY!!
User avatar
Grump642
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 501
Joined: 20 Dec 2008 05:07
Location: Mississippi, USA

Previous

Return to Hardware Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron