Sound when recording Videos

Sound when recording Videos

Postby Balious on 20 Aug 2009 17:14

Wasn't sure if this was a hardware or software issue but I believe it fits hardware.

I am using FRAPS to record videos and without sound it works completely fine. When I added the sound and it lags. For some people this makes any videos I upload unwatchable.

Here is an example of the sound problem:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EL4ZMJpJ6Lg

For those not knowing sonic 1 well here is what the music sounds like with no stutter or lag:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3mqmN6mw ... re=related

I use Realtek High Definition Audio (as thats what device manager calls it).

When I look in Realtek HD Audio Input, Stereo Mix is greyed out but I can enable and disable it. Enabling it gives me sound but as I explained above its messed up. Disabling it gives me no sound. I tried looking for a fix for this but I can't seem to find one. Lowering Recording does not fix the sound.

Here is a picture of Realtek HD Audio Input:
http://i26.tinypic.com/vqjejn.jpg

Anyone have any idea how to fix this problem?
User avatar
Balious
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 894
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 19:41
Location: England, Birmingham

Re: Sound when recording Videos

Postby Nightwatch on 20 Aug 2009 18:29

Maybe the FRAPS that you use is faulty, or faulty installation. Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the FRAPS? Also try using Windows Audio, if it has one, I remember it had something like that. (I haven't re-installed FRAPS yet)

I had once had that kind of problem, but it disappeared when I tried another version of FRAPS.
NEWSA.SIMBION_TWEAK 3.0
Mod Website= Features, Video, Tips & Download Link: NEWSA.SIMBION_Tweak

Watch the Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Ajw_f8K ... re=channel
Please Do Not download and install any files from links other than those on the Mod's Website
User avatar
Nightwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 05:42
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: Sound when recording Videos

Postby Balious on 20 Aug 2009 20:34

I don't believe it is FRAPS causing it as I used xfire to record a video and that had just as crappy sound. But I have tried reinstalling twice and still no success. I haven't tried the Windows part yet. Will try that out now. (edited) Tried it and still the same dodgy sound it makes.

Thanks for helping Nightwatch :mozilla_smile:
User avatar
Balious
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 894
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 19:41
Location: England, Birmingham

Re: Sound when recording Videos

Postby ket on 21 Aug 2009 15:40

Its the drivers for your HD Audio. Realtek are pure shit, its one of the big factors that lead me to the Xonar. When it comes to using fraps unfortunately the only options are to put up with it or kill sound completely.
Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v (actual)
RAM: 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-11-10-25 1T
GPU: VTX3D HD7970 3GB @ 1125MHz / 6600MHz
Sound: Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
HDD: 2TB Seagate Barracuda, Sata3 64MB Cache
Opticals: 2x Sony Optiarc DVD-RW
PSU: Corsair 850w HX
Case: Zalman Z11

TK - Singularity homepage
User avatar
ket
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 11:57
Location: The solar system

Re: Sound when recording Videos

Postby Balious on 21 Aug 2009 16:12

Thanks guys.

I pretty much guess that I am gonna need a new sound card for proper recording?

I messed abit more with the audio from windows movie maker along with recording on the options and somehow managed to fix the sound in my opinion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mss19rZDF2o

Heres the final result of it. I just made it more quiet and it somehow fitted the sound properly.

I have one more issue but I dont think it can be fixed but whenever I have Stereo Mix unmuted I can't talk with my friends on my mic. I have to turn it off and it be fine but this means I can't record any sound unless theres one that does it on its own and I can just fit them together?
User avatar
Balious
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 894
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 19:41
Location: England, Birmingham

Re: Sound when recording Videos

Postby ket on 21 Aug 2009 18:10

Its the crappy drivers unfortunately. The Xonar DX is probably the cheapest decent solution. It'll cost about £50.
Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v (actual)
RAM: 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-11-10-25 1T
GPU: VTX3D HD7970 3GB @ 1125MHz / 6600MHz
Sound: Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
HDD: 2TB Seagate Barracuda, Sata3 64MB Cache
Opticals: 2x Sony Optiarc DVD-RW
PSU: Corsair 850w HX
Case: Zalman Z11

TK - Singularity homepage
User avatar
ket
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 11:57
Location: The solar system


Return to Hardware Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron