STALKER Help

STALKER Help

Postby Balious on 06 Jul 2011 15:24

Wasn't sure where to exactly put this but it affects all three of my STALKER games.

I remember this being discussed in one of the mod chats here but can't remember which and no idea if a fix was found.

Basically the game freezes every so often while loading things. For example if I was playing stalker shadow of chernobyl with the zone wars mod lots of different things happen so my game would freeze for a mini second every 6 mins or so to load more stalkers or something far away on the map or something. It happen at any different time so it could be 20 minutes before it happens and I think the problem was having more then one core for the processor. Its not really annoying depending how many times it does it every so often im just wondering if there was something that lower this chance?

Would suck to try recording the game and it does it every few minutes so any help be wonderful. Sorry if there is an actual fix and I completely didn't see it. And again I say its not that annoying of a problem but I like the chance of it freezing to happen being minium.

Im sleepy and rushed writing this a little so sorry if its not well understood.
User avatar
Balious
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 894
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 19:41
Location: England, Birmingham

Re: STALKER Help

Postby MeanderingBeing on 06 Jul 2011 22:30

Actually, I have the same problem. I get that every 8 minutes or so, where it'll like stutter and freeze for like 5 seconds. I found that the -noprefetch command minimized the issue, however I think it's an issue with insufficient RAM. I think what's happening is that the RAM maxes out, dumps, then reloads. I had that problem very often with my 2g build, but the 4g rarely had that, but it still happened once in a while.
LOOK! It says gullible on the ceiling!!!
User avatar
MeanderingBeing
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 631
Joined: 28 Sep 2008 07:03
Location: The Road.... AGAIN....

Re: STALKER Help

Postby ket on 10 Oct 2011 00:48

I know the problem you speak of. The issue is actually multifold;

- Since patch 1.0003 (or was it 1.0004?) some processes were moved to the second CPU stream. This is when the freezes got noticable.
- Fine-tuning AI switch distance can help a bit, but won't get rid of it.
- The freezing is also caused by the renderer itself, deffinately the r2 rendered (DX9), I don't thing the r1 renderer (DX8) has this issue.

Theres not much you can do about this apart from have lots of RAM handy for Stalker, a fast GPU and CPU.
Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v (actual)
RAM: 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-11-10-25 1T
GPU: VTX3D HD7970 3GB @ 1125MHz / 6600MHz
Sound: Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
HDD: 2TB Seagate Barracuda, Sata3 64MB Cache
Opticals: 2x Sony Optiarc DVD-RW
PSU: Corsair 850w HX
Case: Zalman Z11

TK - Singularity homepage
User avatar
ket
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 11:57
Location: The solar system


Return to Hardware Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron