Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 08 Jan 2009 00:38

Ok, so i turn my comp on, after about 10 minuites, a error comes up, complaing about the thing in the title, after that point, my sound refuses to work at all, no matter what, i have to restart, it works but then after awhile it comes back and again sound fails, at the same time, my Connection to my Xbox fails, and it wont work again till i restart, if i disable my connection it restarts the comp completely after like a 5 second freeze, its really pissing me off, any ideas anyone?
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby EggChen on 08 Jan 2009 02:10

I don't know, but I would start be reinstalling sound, and network drivers....

Generic host is usually something that I would have seen in my firewall, and as you are having connection and sound issues, I would start with those.
User avatar
EggChen
Moderator
 
Posts: 1016
Joined: 13 Sep 2008 00:44
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 08 Jan 2009 02:19

Hmm, its only once, it says the error message, that everything starts to fall apart, next time i get it, ill screenie it and post the image here if i get time, otherwise ill keep watching here for words of wisdom, and keep researching the issue.
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby Grump642 on 08 Jan 2009 02:23

User avatar
Grump642
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 501
Joined: 20 Dec 2008 05:07
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 08 Jan 2009 02:35

Cheers man, ill try it in the morning, after ive had my shower/bath, and ill try it and see if it fixes my comp before i leave to meet with my girl, hope it works man, if it does, ill just have to send you a hug via email. :P
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby ket on 08 Jan 2009 14:20

All sorts of stuff can cause that. If the MS fix dont work let us know.
Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v (actual)
RAM: 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-11-10-25 1T
GPU: VTX3D HD7970 3GB @ 1125MHz / 6600MHz
Sound: Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
HDD: 2TB Seagate Barracuda, Sata3 64MB Cache
Opticals: 2x Sony Optiarc DVD-RW
PSU: Corsair 850w HX
Case: Zalman Z11

TK - Singularity homepage
User avatar
ket
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 11:57
Location: The solar system

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 09 Jan 2009 00:25

Ok, im started my comp about and hour ago ish, seems to not have given me the error, and i havent installed the fix posted by grump either, so no idea. :S
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 09 Jan 2009 04:11

Ok 4 hours 36 mins, the error has finaly hit me.

http://i39.tinypic.com/35170av.jpg
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby audioave10 on 09 Jan 2009 05:46

Just an observation by looking at your taskbar...you seem to have a lot of things going on at once. It might not hurt to shut down some of that stuff while copying a large file. Even if your hardware can handle it some parts of MS software cannot. Is that MS messenger
running in the background? One of the first things I remove from
my windows OS. I understand you may use it. You might be a good
candidate for a quad-core. Yes, I know...expensive.
"Let the Zone take me if I am"
User avatar
audioave10
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 14 Sep 2008 01:30
Location: USA

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 09 Jan 2009 14:40

Trust me mate, if i could i would get a quad right now, i do so much at once all the time, modelling, graphics, coding, god knows what else, also MSN is a diffrent one than the one thats originaly on the OS when installed, as for it being on when i do alot of stuff, thats a no, it does it also at random times, even if my comp is idle, or im just listening to music, or surfing the forum, anyway i just installed the fix Grump linked, will see if it helps. :)
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby rockingmtranch on 09 Jan 2009 17:37

And, PC help can always be found at www.montanamenagerie.com Lot of MS experts there (I'm not one of them but I am a moderator).
LINUX! Don't fight it. You will be assimilated!
----------------
Gulf War Vet--2nd Squadron, 2nd ACR, Fort Polk, LA
User avatar
rockingmtranch
Moderator
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: 13 Sep 2008 02:39
Location: Meadowbrook, California

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 10 Jan 2009 01:58

Still getting that error, really annoying me now. X(
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby Nightwatch on 10 Jan 2009 08:57

If you've installed the MS Hotfix that Grump642 posted and you're still getting crashes, then I can recommend that you should make system restore (not system recovery -which would require reinstalling windows) , I almost forgot the XP now, but you should find it through the Control Panel. Choose a date (a few days earlier) before this problem started and restore the PC to that date. If not corrects, then choose even an earlier date.

Also, start uninstalling programs that you installed just before this problem, if you installed any.

But, system restore should be helpful. After the system restore, install the MS hotfix again. It seems many XP computers have started to have this malfunction as you have. Good luck. I hope it helps. :)
User avatar
Nightwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 05:42
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 10 Jan 2009 17:59

I found the culprit, Freecorder, do not install that piece of shit, word of warning. :)
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 12 Jan 2009 19:48

ARGH!, that piece of shit has ruined it all, sound dosent work proper, display plays up, connections play up, never ever touch freecorder EVER, just a word of warning.
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby Nightwatch on 13 Jan 2009 01:03

Thanks for the warning for us all. :mozilla_smile: I think you'd better perform a system restore as I mentioned above. It's one of the first things that needs to be done in these kinds of situations. Start going back to an earlier restore point one by one, starting from the first available one set before you installed this software. It should return your PC to its working state what was before the installation of this piece.
User avatar
Nightwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 05:42
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby jamie1992 on 13 Jan 2009 01:16

For some reason, restore points are turned off. :S
Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!
User avatar
jamie1992
Senior Resident
 
Posts: 802
Joined: 12 Sep 2008 23:04
Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby rockingmtranch on 13 Jan 2009 03:00

Ok...I'll say it again then. Come over to Montanamenagerie.org....sign up and go to the Malware Maladies thread. You'll find instructions on how to post some logs from your computer and they will fix you up. You, from what I'm reading, have malware or a virus or two. Get it cleansed and you'll be good to go.
LINUX! Don't fight it. You will be assimilated!
----------------
Gulf War Vet--2nd Squadron, 2nd ACR, Fort Polk, LA
User avatar
rockingmtranch
Moderator
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: 13 Sep 2008 02:39
Location: Meadowbrook, California

Re: Generic Host For Win32 Process's

Postby Nightwatch on 13 Jan 2009 11:58

jamie1992 wrote:For some reason, restore points are turned off. :S


That's very bad I have to say, I'm afraid. And in this regard, I agree with rockingmtranch, you most certainly have a malware of any possible kind. Virus, trojan? Or a mixture of them in fact. Many programs that are readily available through the internet do carry this risk unfortunately. You should (and Must) use a very good AV and Firewall. And asa rule: they should never be cracked.

Let me put it this way in general terms without suggesting that you or anyone else may be doing it (though I would not shout a moral opposition to it in general in most of the cases as the software companies do rip off customers in great many cases, -real developers/creators of those software are always paid with peanuts in comparison to what the companies do earn out of those software- anyway, but, hey, we are tied down with laws that keep an eye on sites), it's always recommended that even those who download and crack any software should never crack an AV or Firewall, because they are thedefence against any eventuality that may bite you in the wrong place :mozilla_smile:

Well, do please check the site that rockingmtranch recommends. I believe that in a situation like you have, I think you would be advised to perform a system recovery (reinstalling OS and core software on your PC disk) this time, if you really want to feel safe. However it's quite painful in a a rapidly escalating scale, depending on how many (and how complicated) programs you've installed that you'd need to reinstall.
User avatar
Nightwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 05:42
Location: London, United Kingdom

Next

Return to Software Desk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron